Invitational Soils Judging Dates for 2017 (Dates in red are from 2016 and will be updated as notified)
Sponsor Date
 
Beginning Masters Soils Workshop - Southern Wells FFA. Wells County 1000S 100W - 1 mile south & 2 miles east of SWHS. 9 a.m. - noon (work at own speed). Open to students and teachers. For questions, contact Steve Stauffer sstauffer@swell.k12.in.us or cell: 260-307-6151. August 26, 2017
   
Washington County Soils Invitational - Registration at contest site. $5/individual. Teams interested in participating in the contest will need to RSVP to the Washington County SWCD office by noon August 25th.  Site location will be sent out on Friday, August 25th.  Registration will be held from 8:00 AM – 8:30 AM.  The contest will begin at 8:45 AM.  To RSVP, call the Wash Co SWCD at (812) 883-3704 ext. 3 or email jill.roll@in.nacdnet.net For information contact Jill Roll - Washington County SWCD, Salem, IN <Jill.Roll@in.nacdnet.net> or cell (812) 620-0066. August 26, 2017
   
Farm Progress Show Soils Invitational - Farm Progress Show, Decatur, IL. For more information and to register contact: N. Dennis Bowman, Extension Educator, N-307 Turner Hall MC 046, 1102 S Goodwin Ave., Urbana, IL 61801. ( 217) 244-0851 or ndbowman@illinois.edu
Only the first 25 FFA teams that respond to this invitation by August 14, 2017 will compete. Only one team per chapter may register and each team may have no more than four participating students.
August 29, 2017
   
Southeastern Indiana Soils Invitational - Decatur County. Registration online by August 29th at https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSc05CVlRKEyRDTEY-6Nw2H6z4S0HvpRH4elVKdhSMKdXv61qA/viewform and directions to the contest site will be emailed to those registered the day of the contest.Contest starts at 5:30 p.m. $4 per individual or $15 per team. For questions, contact Scott Johnson sjohnson@decaturco.k12.in.us August 30, 2017
   
Harrison County Soils - northern Harrison County.  Registration 5:00 pm-5:30 pm. Contest will start at 5:30 pm. (Fast Time).  Entry Fee: No charge, no trophies. Please contact by 8/30 to let know how many judgers to expect.  Contact Archie Sauerheber at (812) 347-1759 or asauerheber@nhcs.k12.in.us September 6, 2017
   
Rural America Farm and Garden Expo Soils Contest - Jay County Fairgrounds. Free admission to students. For more information, contact Cody Linville clinville@jayschools.k12.in.us September 7, 2016
   
Vincennes University - (Co-Sponsor Purdue University). Contest in Knox County, details TBA. Cost $3.00 per contestant due at registration (checks payable to Vincennes University).  No charge for coaches. Email expected attendance numbers. For more information contact Charles W. Mansfield at (812) 888-5131 or (812) 888-4311 or cmansfield@vinu.edu September 9, 2017
   
Argos - Registration 8:30 to 9:00 - Contest at 9:15. Bollenbacher Farm 19265 Maple Rd. Argos IN. Entry fee: $5/contestant. The contest will be scored using the scantron system.  Only #2 pencils can be used to mark their cards.  For more information contact Mallarie Stookey at mstookey@argos.k12.in.us or (574) 265-4959. September 10, 2016
   
Dubois County Soils - Judi Brown; Dubois County SWCD; 1486 Executive Blvd. Suite A Jasper IN 47546 Phone: (812) 482-1171 Ext. 3 Fax: (812) 482-9601 Email: judi.brown@in.nacdnet.net September 12, 2017
   
Purdue University – IAAE-PU and Agronomy Club.  Location: One of the Purdue Forestry Farms.  Registration 8:00-11:00 a.m.  Entry fee is $4/person. WE WILL HAVE SCANTRONS!!! BRING A #2 PENCIL. Make check payable to "Purdue Invitational Soil Judging Contest." September 16, 2017 (morning)
   
Tri-County/Benton Central - FORMAT CHANGE:  We will have four practice sites available on September 17th.  There will be no fees or scoring.  Holes will be available from 9 am to 5 pm on the 17th only.  Location: Directions will be emailed after Labor Day. Site is in the TC school district in the Brookston/Chalmers area. There will be blank scorecards and officials posted at each site similar to Friday before state soils.  Students will be present to direct parking and to hole locations. Any Questions call Travis Scherer (Tri-County) at 219-279-2105 ext. 448 scherert@trico.k12.in.us Looking for a date. Stay tuned.
   
Tippecanoe Valley - Practice only! No contest September 16, 2017
   
LaPorte County - Parkman Farm, 4103 S. 1100 W., Westville, IN 46391. Registration 9-9:30 a.m. Entry fee $5/person. RSVP to Bill Smith, Westville H.S. wsmith@westville.k12.in.us or cell 219-331-3704. September 23, 2016
   
Attica - Registration 8:00 to 8:45 a.m. at contest site for 9:00 a.m. start. The contest will consist of four pits - two agricultural and two homesite. Pre-register by September 18th by emailing Macon Beck at mbeck@attica.k12.in.us. Cost is $4/person. Maps will be emailed the week of the contest. September 24, 2016
   
Ivy Tech Marion Campus Agriculture program and Eastbrook FFA. Registration at Ivy Tech Conference Center. 8-8:45 a.m. registration. Travel to site with contest start at 9:00 am. Sr and Jr division as well as an advisors division. Cost: $5/person. The contest will be scored using the scantron system. Only #2 pencils can be used to mark their cards. For more information contact Kevin Pluimer (765) 664-1214 ext. 166 or kpluimer@eastbrook.k12.in.us or Tom Daugherty – (765)651-3100 ext. 3414, tdaugherty@ivytech.edu September 23, 2017
   
Johnson County - Meet at Indian Creek High School for registration.  Registration 8-8:30 a.m. Will caravan to contest site to start approximately 9 a.m. Entry fee $4/person. For more information, contact Joe Dunn  at (317) 878-2119 or 317-626-1810 or by email at jdunn@nhj.k12.in.us September 30, 2017
   
North Miami - Registration will be from 8:30-9am. Location TBA. Entry fee of $5.00 per contestant. Divisions will include senior, rookie, and advisor. The contest will be scored using the scantron system (old style / two sided).  Only #2 pencils can be used to mark their cards. For more information contact Jim Wildermuth at jwildermuth@nmcs.k12.in.us September 30, 2017
   
State Soils CDE in Knox County, hosted by Vincennes University. For more information see https://extension.purdue.edu/4h/Pages/CDE.aspx and http://www.inffa.org/Association/ October 14, 2017